<data:blog.pageTitle/>

This Page

has moved to a new address:

http://readeroffictions.com

Sorry for the inconvenienceā€¦

Redirection provided by Blogger to WordPress Migration Service
A Reader of Fictions: On My New Arrivals Shelf (8)

A Reader of Fictions

Book Reviews for Just About Every Kind of Book

Sunday, June 17, 2012

On My New Arrivals Shelf (8)

Or, I'm a Vlogger Now!

I made my first vlog on Wednesday to totally rub your noses in Vanna White all the books I got at BEA.  Make sure you check that out as well, if not to see my face then at least to check out the epic list of what I got. Okay? You better do it. Otherwise, I will cry. You don't want to make me cry do you?

Here's my second vlog, but I will also be including images below in case you've got a slow internet connection, don't want to see my face, or are at work, so no worries. Sorry the video's a little dark. I had some issues with lighting. I think I found a better spot to film, but I didn't want to film the video again because I finally got what I was saying right (for the most part).

video

 Books Mentioned:
Dreamless - Josephine Angelini (Won from HarperCollins Twitter giveaway)
The Supernaturalist - Eoin Colfer (purchased)
Outlander - Diana Gabaldon (purchased)
Invisible Sun - David Macinnis Gill (won in Goodreads First Reads giveaway|my review)

Legacy - Cayla Kluver (won from Primrose Musings|my review)
The List -Siobhan Vivian (won from Figment Fiction)
The Last Policeman - Ben H. Winters (for review from Quirk Books)
The Bellwether Revivals - Benjamin Wood (for review from Penguin)

Bloggers Mentioned:

E-Books:
If you've been following me for a while, I have been trying to reduce my e-galley intake. Well, I forgot to put them in last week, because I was exhausted and vaguely sick last week when I threw my New Arrivals Shelf together and totally spaced on posting those. It doesn't mean I don't love them (I do), but it does mean that I now have oodles (especially since some of the ones in purgatory emerged approvals, which totally shocked me).

From Kendall Grey & Lynn Rush, who won't mind being put together since they're buds:
Exhale (Just Breathe #2) - Kendall Grey
Awaited (Wasteland #2) - Lynn Rush (I'll need to find a copy of book one, since I haven't read it yet. That's how they get you, lol.)

Thanks to The Book Rat & JL Bryan (Confession: I forgot to post these for way too long, but I'm excited! They sound like they should be good readalikes for War for the Oaks!)
Fairy Metal Thunder (Songs of Magic #1) - JL Bryan
Fairy Blues (Songs of Magic #2) - JL Bryan
Fairystruck (Songs of Magic #3) - JL Bryan

From NetGalley:
 League of Strays - L. B. Schulman (ABRAMS)
Dearly, Beloved (Gone with the Respiration #2) - Lia Habel (Random House)
Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2) - Deborah Harkness (Penguin)
Dark Star - Bethany Frenette (Disney-Hyperion)

This Is Not Forgiveness - Celia Rees (Bloomsbury)
Butter - Erin Jade Lange (Bloomsbury)
Love and Other Perishable Items - Laura Buzo (Random House)
Meant to Be - Lauren Morrill (Random House)

Strands of Bronze and Gold - Jane Nickerson (Random House)
Poltergeeks - Sean Cumming (Strange Chemistry)
The Assassin's Curse - Cassandra Rose Clarke (Strange Chemistry)
Confessions of an Angry Girl - Louise Rozett (Harlequin)

Labels:

16 Comments:

Blogger Heather said...

Thing the first: your hair looks fantastic today!

Man, the friend who recommended Outlander to you must be the coolest person on the face of the Earth! haha.

You got so many lovely books this week. I totally know what you mean about ebooks; I am always super behind because all of my Overdrive holds tend to come in at the same time, and I also download a ton of freebies. I have a problem. haha

Oh, ps, I found all of the books that I'm borrowing from you; they were all around the same spot on one of my bookcases :)

June 17, 2012 at 10:29 PM  
Blogger Christina said...

Thanks, dude! I...took it out of it's ponytail and finger-combed it. Haha!

Yeah, she pretty much is.

We have such a big problem.

My books! They are not lost!

June 18, 2012 at 8:05 AM  
Blogger kara-karina@Nocturnal Book Reviews said...

Dark Star! You lucky girl! ;) I hope you enjoy all your wonderful reads, Christina! ;)

June 18, 2012 at 8:50 AM  
Anonymous Katie @ BlookGirl said...

Wow, VERY nice book haul, Christina! I see we have a few similarities ;-) League of Strays sounds really interesting. I know Kara wasn't a fan, but I'm still curious about it. Hope you'll post a review soon! (No pressure, haha.)

Hope you enjoy all your lovelies <3

PS: You look lovely in your video!

June 18, 2012 at 10:16 AM  
Blogger Christina said...

Awww, thanks. I love vlogging. People keep telling me I'm pretty. *brushes shoulders off*

Yeah, I'm super concerned about League of Strays, but I am going to read it...sometime. *gets squashed by the pressure* lol.

June 18, 2012 at 10:28 AM  
Blogger Christina said...

Right? I don't know what it's about but the cover's so cool!

June 18, 2012 at 10:28 AM  
Blogger kimbacaffeinate said...

wow awesome haul! Enjoy all of these lovely. Your vlog is great..i would love to do this but alas I am too much of a chicken!

June 18, 2012 at 11:10 AM  
Blogger Bekka said...

You look gorgeous in your video! *fans self*

I also got A League of Strays and Butter, but totally forgot to add them to this week's post. I'm not really sure about either of them. Maybe I'll wait til you read them first! You're usually spot on in your reviews.

June 18, 2012 at 11:11 AM  
Blogger Christina said...

I was worried about vlogging, but it's really not too bad!! Then again, I've always been talkative...

June 18, 2012 at 11:28 AM  
Blogger Christina said...

Both of those things are so nice to hear! It might take me a while to get to them, though, with my crazy BEA pile. We'll see who gets there first!

June 18, 2012 at 11:29 AM  
Blogger Lilian said...

YAY! I love watching vlogs! Thoough I can just imagine me combing my hair every five seconds if I did one...

And wonderful book haul this week I see! (especially all those ebooks *o*)
I'm looking forward to hearing your thoughts on The Last Policeman since I haven't heard of that book before today..and Shadow of Night! (I still need to read Discovery of Witches which is sitting on my desk...seducing me with its beautiful cover)

Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

June 18, 2012 at 3:03 PM  
Blogger Mrs Q Book Addict said...

I loved The Bellwether Revivals, I hope you do too. Happy reading!

June 18, 2012 at 3:47 PM  
Blogger Christina said...

I'm so glad you like watching vlogs! I usually can't, so I had no idea people loved them so much! They're definitely going to be a regular feature!

READ A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES!!! It has some silly aspects, but it is still just so damn good.

June 19, 2012 at 7:55 AM  
Blogger Christina said...

Oh, good to hear, since I'm starting that tomorrow.

June 19, 2012 at 7:55 AM  
Blogger Kayla Beck said...

I'm using someone else's internet so I get to watch! *dances* Your vlogs are so fun. :-D

Oh, and Eoin = Ian. I can't remember who told me that one.

June 20, 2012 at 12:53 AM  
Blogger Christina said...

Yay!

Yeah, I thought that might be it, and in one version of the recording I said that, but then I second guessed myself. For all I know, it could be pronounced Ronald.

June 20, 2012 at 8:20 AM  

Post a Comment

Every comment is appreciated and I will almost always respond, because I love conversing about books!

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home